Interview With Author Te’ Russ!

Hi, lovely souls! How are you? 🙂

Well, I hope! I have something for you. Something a bit early. I couldn’t wait to share it with you all.

Here is my interview with the wonderful Te’ Russ.

Angel: Thank you so much for taking the time out to answer my questions, Mama Te’. I really, truly appreciate it!
Te’: Thank you for having me!
Angel: This shouldn’t take long. I know you’re a busy woman. I just wanted to pick your brain for a little. Here we go. How did you come up with your pen name, or did it choose you?
Te’: I suppose it kind of chose me. It’s just my nickname that everyone already calls me.
Angel: That’s cool! Mine chose me as well. It’s a rather funny story… One that I’ll probably share with you one day.
Te’: Looking forward to it.
Angel: Next question. What is your writing kryptonite?
Te’: Procrastination, mainly social media sites.
Angel: I know what you mean. Mine would be outlining. I know I’m probably one of the very few authors that doesn’t care for outlining particularly too much, but I’m warming up to it.
Te’: You’d be surprised. There are a lot of ‘pantsers‘ out there. I’m one of them. I don’t outline often. But I do understand the importance of it and do so when absolutely necessary. But most days I’m just wingin’ it.
Angel: Here’s another question for you. Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?
Te: I honestly don’t know. Maybe in other genres?
Angel: What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?
Te’: That’s a hard one. I don’t really know LOL
Angel: How many unpublished or half-finished books do you have?
Te’: Sort of. It was a YA story I worked on before I switched to romance. I guess it would have fallen under the paranormal umbrella. It was about a family with special abilities.
Angel: Ooh! That sounds like something I would read! Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?
Te’: Most definitely. On those days when the words just flow, it can be soul-stirring.
Angel: I know exactly what you mean. It took me seven days to just write (by hand) a manuscript, and it was the most amazing experience ever! What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?
Te’: Making sure it actually sounds like someone of the opposite sex. I’ve definitely consulted with my husband sometimes to get a male perspective on my writing.
Angel: I’m sure he gives you tons of good insight. That’s so sweet!
Te’: He does. He’s the best and my biggest supporter.
Angel: Just a few more questions. Why do you write the genre (and/or subgenre) that you write?
Te’: I write African-American contemporary romance because that is where my heart is. I love reading that genre and I love putting my own spin on it and sharing it with the world.
Angel: A woman after my own heart. Black Love just… I love it. How do you select the names of your characters?
Te’: Sometimes they just come to me, other times, I ask readers for ideas. I also use baby name sites.
Angel: I’m the same way. My character’s names usually hit me when I’m washing dishes LOL. What is the easiest and the most difficult part of your artistic process?
Te’: I’m not sure what the easiest part is honestly. But I have recently discovered that the hardest part of my process is being able to accept when some ideas are just not going to work and having to change things. I can be quite stubborn with myself in that aspect.

Angel: Before I let you go; could you tell everyone reading about your upcoming release?

Te’: Noble Redemption is book three in my series The Nobles of Sweet Rapids. This series is set in the fictional town of Sweet Rapids Nevada around quadruplets Isaiah, Ian, Isabella and Ivy. Their parents, Isaac and Irene, run their family business Noble Naturals, a natural hair care line. The siblings are scattered across the country and world and the series focuses on them returning home, finding their balance between their passions and their rightful places in the company while stumbling across love along the way.
In Noble Redemption, get to finally hear Isabella Noble’s story. Her passion for fashion took her to the other side of the world. But Isabella Noble is back in Sweet Rapids and has to face Stephen Hill, the love she gave up for her career. Can they finally move forward, away from the bitterness of the past, and rekindle their love from days gone by?
Angel: Well, you already know I will be 1-clicking when it comes out. I love your TNOSR series! Thanks again for stopping by to chat with me for a bit!
Te’: Thanks again for having me!

Angel: Anytime! And Happy Release Day, Mama Te’! ❤

 

 

You guys should 1-click and support my amazing friend. I’ve already done it. 😉 You can find Noble Redemption here. It’s awesome. Trust me. ❤

Until next time, lovely souls!

Keep flying…

~Angel

2 thoughts on “Interview With Author Te’ Russ!

  1. HI Ms. Angel!
    I’m a stalker of Ms. Te! Just kidding, I’m one of her faithful readers, I only stalk her when she haven’t put a book out in months!
    One question of yours to Ms. Te I wanted to address: ALL of Ms. Te’S books is appreciated! I own every book Ms. Russ has written and the man are YUMMY and I can identify with all her characters.
    I enjoyed your interview with one of my favorite authors.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Sophia! Thank you so much for reading! I’m so glad you enjoyed our interview! Te’ is definitely one of my favorites as well! Thanks again for stopping by! :-*

      Like

Leave a Reply

