Angel Interviews…

Twyla Turner! 

Hello, lovely souls! I have another interview for you. This one comes from the lovely Twyla Turner. I’m so happy that she stopped by and chatted with me today.

Angel: Hi, Twyla! Thank you so much for taking the time out to chat with me today!

Twyla: Thank you for having me!

Angel: You’re so welcome! Thank you for being here! Here we go. First question. How did you come up with your pen name, or did it choose you?

Twyla: My parents actually chose my pen name. 😉 Twyla Turner is my real name. I do have a pen name for my YA novel, which is T.H. Bolden. That name is a combination of family names.

Angel: Oh! So cool. I’m definitely going to check out your other works! What is your writing kryptonite?

Twyla: The craziness going on in the world. I didn’t really think I had a writing kryptonite, until I watched the racial tension grow more and more throughout the country on social media. It stunted my writing process, beyond anything I could’ve imagined.

Angel: I totally have to distance myself away from the world when I write. It can be a bit of a downer most times. I usually don’t know about the outbreaks of violence (or the like) until after they have taken place. Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

Twyla: It would definitely be a difficult feat. Unless you’re really good at paying attention to other’s emotions and can describe it, I don’t think it’s possible. As far as fiction goes, emotions are the main driving force of any story. Without that, all you have is a textbook.

Angel: LOL. Textbook. I like that! So, what’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

Twyla: I’d say it’s more like a whole genre or demographic of authors. And that’s IR novels or African American authors in general. There is a lot of talent out there that aren’t given a chance for a multitude of stupid reasons.

Angel: I agree wholeheartedly. I would ask you who some of your favorite IR/Black Love authors are…. I have a feeling we would be here forever. How many unpublished or half-finished books do you have?

Twyla: I don’t have any completed novels waiting to be published, but I do have two unfinished stories awaiting my attention.

Angel: Lucky lucky. I can’t wait to read those once they are ready. Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?

Twyla: I don’t know about spiritual. It’s more like, I have all of these stories in my head that need to get out.

Angel: Preach! LOL. What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

Twyla: Trying to get their thought process correct. Men think differently than women, so I want my heroes to seem like men. Not women in muscular form. Ha! I don’t know how well I have succeeded, but I try.

Angel: Trust me, you have superseded ;). Why do you write the genre (and/or subgenre) that you write?

Twyla: Thanks! I love all things romance and eroticism. Romance novels have always been my thing since I became an avid reader back in junior high. And I’m a sexually open-minded woman. I like to talk about sex and have it too. 😉 So it stands to reason that I’d love writing it as well.

Angel: I need to take a class from you about the later, as it relates to writing erotic scenes. Mine are more sensual… But, even with those, I’m rusty. LOL. How do you select the names of your characters?

Twyla: There’s nothing wrong with your love scenes being more sensual. Everyone has their own style. My approach to writing them is the same as I approach writing all of my scenes. I see it in my mind, playing out like a scene in a movie. That helps me a lot.

Now, as far as characters’ names go… Choosing names for my characters is serious business. I treat them like my children, so picking names is very important to me. I look up baby names or sometimes I’ll hear a name in passing and write it down to use for a later date. And their name has to suit their personality and physical appearance as well. Which is why sometimes I’ll change their name after a few chapters and I’ve gotten to know them a little better.

Angel: Glad to know I’m not the only one who deals with indecisive characters. Why won’t they just accept their name? LOL. Or maybe it’s me… *shrugs* What’s the easiest and the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Twyla: Nope. It’s not just you. 😉 The easiest is the beginning and end. For some reason, I can get a story started with no problem and I can zoom through the last couple of chapters. But it is the dreaded middle that is hardest for me. For some reason when I get to the middle of a story, I have the hardest time finding a way to keep the story going without being boring. Trying to keep it flowing and connecting the beginning to the end is so painstaking.

Angel: Lastly, any news you would like to share about any upcoming releases?

Twyla: I don’t have an upcoming release as of yet. My plans are to work on the second story in the Curvy Girls Club series. As of right now, that would be Royal’s story. And I have my fingers crossed that I’ll be getting that story out early next year.

Angel: Have you seen my review on Payton and Bradyn’s story? It’s on my website… I’m totally invested with your Curvy Girls Club Series! Again, thank you so much for stopping by today!

Twyla: Yes, I did read your review. Thank you so much for your positive words! I’m so happy that the girls left an impression on you. I can’t wait to get out all of their stories. Thanks again for having me. I really enjoyed chatting with you.

Angel: Of course, dearest! It’s been a pleasure!

Go ahead and click  the links above to learn more about my darling friend as well as her series! 

Until next time, lovely souls!

Keep flying…

XOXO 

Angel Mystique x 

 

2 thoughts on “Angel Interviews…

Leave a Reply

