Angel Interviews…. DANIELLE BURTON

Hi, lovely souls! 🙂

I hope you all are well. As we close out 2016 (thankfully, right?) I have a special treat for you all. Fellow Contemporary, Black Love author Danielle Burton decided to sit down with me and chat for a few! I loved her books: Excuse Me My First Love & Teach Me from her CollegeDaze Series.

So, I’m honored to have her be a part of the authors that have allowed me to interview them. Without further delay, here’s our interview.

Enjoy!

Angel: Thank you so much for taking the time out to answer my questions, Danielle. I really, truly appreciate it!

Danielle: Anytime. Thanks so much for having me!

Angel: Of course! How did you come up with your pen name, or did it choose you?

Danielle: Danielle Burton is actually a derivative of my real name.

Angel: Cool! Mine… It’s a long story where mine came from. What is your writing kryptonite?

Danielle: Blurbs, synopsis, basically anything summarizing my story. It’s hard.

Angel: Those are actually quite easy for me. I write my blurbs first. LOL. So, if you ever need any help 😉 Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

Danielle: That’s a good question, never thought about it. I supposed they could research to emulate the emotions but it probably wouldn’t come across as authentic in the writing.

Angel: What’s your favorite under-appreciated novel?

Danielle: All That and a Bag of Chips by Darrien Lee.

Angel: Definitely will check that one out. How many unpublished or half-finished books do you have?

Danielle: Uh…100+

Angel: YIKES! But that’s good, though. It means more for us to read 😉 Do you view writing as a kind of spiritual practice?

Danielle: Yes. When writing, I am very in touch with my inner self.

Angel: So, you much catch “the flow”, as they say. What’s the most difficult thing about writing characters from the opposite sex?

Danielle: To be honest, nothing. I actually find writing males much easier than females for some odd reason. And my male characters are always my favorites.

Angel: I can totally relate to you. My Heroes speak to me more, long before I start writing a single word. My Heroines are so quiet and just tell me where to go. Why do you write the genre (and/or subgenre) that you write?

Danielle: I’m a hopeless romantic. All of my genres feature romance in some way, but when I started writing contemporary romance it was sort of an escape from my darker genres. Writing dark characters can be stressful and romance gives me the opportunity to write in a lighter, happier atmosphere…mostly.

Angel: I always loved writing darker subject matter. It flowed better for me, at least in my opinion so I can relate to you when it comes to that. How do you select the names of your characters?

Danielle: Some come to me. Sometimes I search baby name websites.

Angel: I think we have a reoccurring theme here. *laughs* What is the easiest and the most difficult part of your artistic process?

Danielle: The easiest for me is actually coming up with ideas, the hard part is actually getting them on paper…or screen, because sometimes the words just won’t flow from my fingers like they do in my head.

Angel: I write by hand… Crazy, I know. I drafted my first novella by hand, in seven days. Even crazier, right? *smiles* Before I let you go; could you tell everyone reading about your upcoming release?

Danielle: I have a fun and sexy Romantic Comedy coming in January, titled He Said, She Said. It’s the first of a series set in a fictional small town.

Angel: He Said, She Said is…. Well, the readers will have to read it and be the judge. I LOVED IT, and I cannot wait for the rest of the books in the series. There will be more, right? 🙂

Danielle: Most definitely.

Angel: Thank you so much for taking the time out to chat with me. We’ll have to do it again!

Danielle: Just say the word. 🙂 

HE SAID SHE SAID is now available for pre-order on Amazon. We’re only a few days away from the release! I’m so excited! Stop on by a one-click. You won’t regret it!

Until 2017, lovely souls.

Keep flying.

 

XOXOXO

Angel Mystique ❤

Leave a Reply

